She’s Leaving Today

She’s leaving today

My heart will be heavy with sadness

She is carving her path

Writing her story

Becoming the person I only wish I could

I will sing her praise

While she is away

I wait anxiously to watch her life unfold

The changes she may make

She changed me

I spend her childhood trying to shape her

Only to find she shaped me

She’s leaving to today

My heart will be so heavy

….with pride!!!

Posted on August 21, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. A beautiful poem. I share your sentiment. I took one of my sons to college this week, too. Your poem expresses my feelings too. Thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

